Re-mix Culture

“Good artists copy; great artists steal,” Pablo Picasso

Look at Apple Macintosh, shaping and defining generations.. Original? Not quite, Macintosh’s GUI and mouse came from Xerox.

images.jpeg

So what is original, and does it even matter? I’d challenge the idea of brands and marketers following an ‘winning formula’ of original content creation. Remixing content is right on par to other process of creation, but I feel it also has the added benefit of drawing on emotions and associations to enrich a message or point of view. 

Re-mixing ideas and creations calls for bigger and better ideas.. Inspiring artist to create and invent around already made ideas. I always struggled with this idea when studying art.. My teachers would constantly tell me to research artist, experiment their ideas and re-produce them. I guess in my head I wanted to come up with a grand idea myself but in reality you need inspiration. Coming back to Picasso’s quote – I feel like greatness doesn’t come directly from stealing someones work but being inspired by the great things within the work, being able to adapt and  put your own twist on the work.

So maybe think about who & what inspired you? What gets your blood pumping, what makes your creative flares spark? can you make something original out of it?

download

 

 

Leave a comment